And why did I think this was a good idea?

So I started this blog on the spring of 2010 because I am  passionate about maternal health issues. I also know there is a need for objective, evidence-based information out there for all mothers, but especially for Spanish-speaking and/or bilingual moms since we are at a higher risk of premature births, unnecessary interventions in pregnancy and birth…and maternal mortality as well.

However, as much as I LOVE words (I have a PhD in literature)… I am terrified about writing. Not academic writing,the kind of writing that you can hide behind… but creative writing…or personal writing for that matter. Yes, I have been able to write the occasional blog entry from a personal standpoint…but I have stayed away from doing so very often because I am afraid. I was afraid to share my musings in writing circles as a graduate student. I am afraid now.

Nonetheless… I have vowed to become more active in my community, and the online community. I feel called to serve and raise awareness. Thus, I will write. More. More often. Afraid or not. Until the fear goes away or the maternal death rates in this country go down. Whatever comes first. Hopefully the latter before the former.

So there it is. I’m on the path to reinvention, reconfiguration, recommitting myself to the things I hold true.

Read me if you want. Delete me if you must. Pass the word along.

My mantra is the same: Get educated, become empowered!

~MRM

~ by mamamia713 on 11/17/2010.

Leave a comment